Cognac Expert verschickt weiterhin Cognac weltweit. Bleiben Sie gesund.  Stay Home Deals

Otard Cognac

Otard Cognac

Cognac Baron Otard hat eine unglaublich einzigartige Geschichte, die bis ins Mittelalter und zum großen norwegischen Wikinger Ottar zurückreicht. Etwa zur gleichen Zeit wurde das ikonische Chateau de Cognac an den Ufern der Charente erbaut und war weitgehend mit der französischen Monarchie verbunden. Beide Geschichten wurden mit der Gründung von Cognac Maison Otard 1795 schließlich zusammengeführt. Heute ist das Chateau die Heimat von Baron Otard Cognac, die zu den anerkanntesten in Sachen Qualität gehören. Die eleganten Tropfenflaschen sind ein schönes Symbol für die gleichzeitig traditionellen und modernen Werte von Cognac Otard.

Lesen Sie Mehr: Geschichte und 7 interessante Fakten über Otard

See some blog posts related to Otard Cognac


Alles über Otard Cognac

7 Dinge, die Sie wahrscheinlich nicht über die Geschichte von Otard Cognac wussten

1. Neugierig auf Otards Verbindung zu Norwegen? Die Familie geht auf einen norwegischen Krieger zurück, der im 9. Jahrhundert den Namen Ottar trug. Seine Nachkommen lebten zwischen dem 11. und 17. Jahrhundert in der Burg Dun-Ottar in Schottland und folgten König James II. von England zur Unterstützung der Stuarts. Später zogen sie nach Frankreich ins Exil - und landeten in der Cognac-Region. Schauen Sie sich die Beziehungen zwischen Norwegen und Otard genauer an.

2. Die Heimat Otards ist das Chateau de Cognac, auch Chateau de Valois genannt. Dieses Schloss, das im 9. Jahrhundert entstand, wurde von einer Festung während des Hundertjährigen Krieges zum Wohnsitz der Familie Valois und des späteren Königs von Frankreich, Francois I., im Jahr 1500.

3. Der Urenkel des schottischen Barons James Otard war Jean Baptiste Antoine Otard. Er wurde 1773 in Cognac geboren und sollte das berühmte Cognac-Haus Otard gründen und das Chateau de Cognac als Wohnsitz für das Anwesen kaufen. Doch bevor er das Unternehmen gründen konnte, wurde er während der Französischen Revolution für einige Jahre nach England ins Exil geschickt und konnte erst 1795 zurückkehren. Seine Familie waren ursprünglich Weinbauern und der Schritt zum Cognac-Produzenten und zur Unabhängigkeit war somit nicht allzu schwierig.

4. Otard war der erste Cognac-Hersteller, der einen Cognac mit 55% Alkoholgehalt kreierte.

5. Im Laufe der Jahrhunderte hatte das Schloss angesehene Gäste wie Richard Löwenherz, Heinrich III. König von England, den Philosophen und Schriftsteller Voltaire und die Königinnen und Könige von Frankreich.

6. Die Keller des Schlosses sind auch heute noch maßgeblich an der Lagerung und Reifung der Cognacs beteiligt.

7. Der wertvollste Cognac ist nach wie vor der Otard 1795 Extra, ein Verschnitt, die in einer geheimen Höhle im Chateau gelagert wird und das Ergebnis einer alten Tradition und des Strebens nach höchster Qualität ist.

Otard heute

Heute ist Otard sehr stolz auf seine innovativen Marketingstrategien, wie zum Beispiel die exquisite Verpackung. Sie arbeiten viel mit limitierten Editionen und schaffen damit Exklusivität, das im Markt der Luxusmarken wichtig ist. So brachte Otard beispielsweise 2006 seinen ersten Jahrgangs-Cognac aus der Grande Champagne aus dem Jahr 1975 in einer Auflage von 1000 Flaschen auf den Markt.

Seit kurzem gehört Otard zu Bacardi Ltd. und steht damit neben hochrangigen Spirituosen wie Bombay Sapphire Gin, Grey Goose Vodka, Martini und natürlich Bacardi Rum.

Nennenswerte Auszeichnungen

Cognac Otard VSOP gewann die Goldmedaille bei der International Spirits Challenge 2009 und die Silbermedaille bei der International Wine & Spirit Competition 2009.

Baron Otard Preise

Der Preis für Baron Otard VS liegt bei etwa 40 €, und der Preis für Baron Otard XO liegt bei etwa 200 €. Der Preis für Baron Otard 1795 liegt bei etwa 510 €, und Otards Fortis und Fidelis bei etwa 4.000 €.

Sie können alle oben genannten Preise in unserem Shop für die gesamte Otard-Auswahl sehen. 

Baron Otard Tour

Otard hat ein Museum mit einem detaillierten Überblick über seine Geschichte, seine Produktpalette und seine Sammlung von Postern und Kampagnen der letzten Jahrzehnte. Die Besichtigung beginnt mit der Entdeckung des mittelalterlichen Schlosses, gefolgt von einer Einführung in die verschiedenen Phasen der Cognac-Produktion.

Die Führungen beginnen von April bis September täglich um 10 Uhr, 11 Uhr, 14 Uhr, 15 Uhr, 16 Uhr und 17 Uhr (vom 1. April bis 30. Juni und vom 1. September bis 30. September durchgehend von 9.30 bis 17.30 Uhr). Von Oktober bis März jeden Tag (außer samstags, sonntags und an Feiertagen) um 10, 11, 14, 15, 16 und 17 Uhr. Aktuelle Öffnungszeiten können abweichen.

Kontaktieren Sie Otard für alle Anfragen unter +33 5 45 36 88 86

Produkt wurde zur Wunschliste hinzugefügt
Produkt zum Vergleichen hinzugefügt

Um Ihnen das bestmögliche Erlebnis zu bieten, verwendet diese Website Cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Website erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir diese speichern dürfen.

 Weitere Details finden Sie in unserer Datenschuzerklärung.

You have successfully followed this brand

CYBER WEEK SALE: Start your week off right with these deals - time is running!   SHOP NOW

Otard Cognac

Otard Cognac

With an ancient tradition tracing back to the Middle Ages, and to the great Norwegian Viking Ottar, this Cognac dynasty has an incredibly unique history. Around the same period, the iconic Chateau de Cognac was built on the banks of the Charente, and was largely associated with the French monarchy. Eventually, the two histories would merge with the arrival of the Cognac Maison Otard, founded in 1795. Today, the Chateau is the home of Baron Otard Cognac, who are amongst the most recognized in quality. The elegant teardrop bottles are a beautiful symbol for the simultaneously traditional and modern values of Cognac Otard.

Products

Showing 1-8 of 8 item(s)

7 things you probably didn’t know about the history of Otard Cognac

1. Curious about Otard’s link with Norway? The family can trace its origins back to a Norwegian warrior, named Ottar in the 9th century. His descendants lived in the Dun-Ottar castle in Scotland between the 11th and 17th century, and they followed King James II of England in support of the Stuart cause. They later moved to France in exile - and ended up in the Cognac region. Take a more detailed look at the relationship between Norway and Otard.

2. Its home is the Chateau de Cognac, also called the Chateau de Valois. Originating in the 9th century, this castle went from being a fortress during the Hundred Year War to the home of the Valois family in the 1500s and future King of France, Francois I.

3. The great-grandson of the Scottish baron, James Otard was Jean Baptiste Antoine Otard. He was born in Cognac in 1773 and would found the famous cognac house Otard, buying the Chateau de Cognac as a home for the estate. But before he could establish the company, he was sent to exile in England for a few years during the French Revolution and could only return in 1795. His family had been winegrowers and the step to become a cognac producer and gain independence was not all too difficult.

4. Otard was the first Cognac producer to create a Cognac at 55% ABV, going back all the way to Baron Otard who noticed that this was what happened to the spirit through the long sea voyages to export the barrels.

5. Throughout the centuries, the Chateau has had prestigious guests such as Richard Lion Heart, Henry III King of England, the philosopher and writer Voltaire and the Queens and Kings of France.

6. The cellars of the chateau are still instrumental in storing and aging Cognac to this day.

7. The most valuable Cognac remains to be the Otard 1795 Extra, a blend that is stored in a secret cave in the Chateau, and the result of an old tradition and quest for the highest quality.

Otard Today

Today, Otard is very proud of its innovative marketing strategies, such as its exquisite packaging. They work a lot with limited editions, creating an element of exclusivity that is important in the luxury brands market. For instance, in 2006, Otard launched its first vintage cognac from the Grande Champagne region, dated 1975, in an edition of 1000 bottles.

The most valuable cognac remains to be the 1795 Extra, a blend that is stored in a secret cave in the Chateau, and the result of an old tradition and quest for the highest quality. Since recently, Otard belongs to Bacardi Ltd, positioning it next to highly ranking spirits like Bombay Sapphire Gin, Grey Goose Vodka, Martini and of course Bacardi Rum.

Notable Awards

Cognac Otard VSOP won the Gold medal at the 2009 International Spirits Challenge and the Silver medal at 2009 International Wine & Spirit Competition.

Baron Otard Price List

You can see all of the prices above in our Shop for the entire Otard selection.

Baron Otard Tour

Otard has a museum with a detailed overview of its history, its product range and its collection of posters and campaigns of the past decades. Visits start with a discovery of the medieval Chateau, followed by an introduction to the different stages of Cognac production.

Take a look at the time we visited the Chateau for some more inspiration about the trip.

Guided tours begin, every day from April to September, at 10am, 11am, 2pm, 3pm, 4pm and 5pm (from April 1 to June 30 and September 1 to September 30 continuously from 9.30am to 5.30pm). From October to March, every day (except Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays) at 10am, 11am, 2pm, 3pm, 4pm and 5pm.

Contact Otard for any enquiries under +33 5 45 36 88 86

See some blog posts related to Otard Cognac

Visiting the Medieval Cognac Castle of Baron Otard
May 07, 2014

All Articles

Visiting the Medieval Cognac Castle of Baron Otard
On our recent visit to Cognac country, which was also tied in with the exhibition opening of renowned German artist Michael Krebber at CAPC musée d’art contemporain in Bordeaux, we had the great...
Our Cognac Tour:  Baron Otard, Courvoisier, Hennessy, Hine, Martell, Rémy Martin
Aug 31, 2012

All Articles

Our Cognac Tour: Baron Otard, Courvoisier, Hennessy, Hine, Martell, Rémy Martin
This week we (Sophie, Max and Marc) were really busy with visiting Baron Otard, Courvoisier, Hennessy, Rémy Martin, Hine and Martell. Read our article about Hennessy in the next days: How we...
Interview with the Cellar Master of Cognac D’Ussé : How is D’Ussé made?
Oct 08, 2012

All Articles

Interview with the Cellar Master of Cognac D’Ussé : How is D’Ussé made?
We talked to Michel Casavecchia, the cellar master of the Château de Cognac, France – the producers of Baron Otard and Cognac D’Ussé. Cognac-Expert: Dear Monsieur Casavecchia, thank you for taking...
8 Highly Original Cognac Ads
May 11, 2021

All Articles

8 Highly Original Cognac Ads
Cognac advertisements and labels have always been rather eccentric and creative, featuring all sorts of characters, stories, and situations to promote the eaux-de-vie. We suspect it probably has...
Product added to wishlist
Product added to compare.
To give you the best possible experience, this site uses cookies and by continuing to use the site you agree that we can save them.  Our Privacy Policy
You have successfully followed this brand